Going back…

TheMusicalUmbrellaBlogThis 50’s illustration by Ferelith Eccles Williams comes from a book called the The Musical Umbrella. We were going to write something intelligent about modernist illustration and then decided to let the image do the talking.

We are in vintage land today, researching supermarkets of the 60’s and 70’s and enjoying photos of vegetable displays stacked in a section called ‘The Market Garden’ and pyramids of 10oz cans of processed peas at 6p.

1960'sSupermarket

If you spend too long in vintage land the edges between the past and the present begin to blur. Goffin and King wrote about the simplicity of the past in Goin’ Back,  from the perspective of relationships rather than super market shopping but it really doesn’t matter. The past seems better, less complicated, crisper, easier to comprehend. We are not blind to a nostalgia for a past that has never been but we are rather enjoying ourselves  spending a freezing cold day drinking tea, designing and making………… and shopping in the 60’s and 70’s British high street.

A credit for the supermarket pic will follow.

Goin’ Back Lyrics

(gerry goffin & carole king)

I think I’m goin’ back
To the things
I learned so well
In my youth

I think I’m returning to
Those days
When I was young enough
To know the truth

Now there are no games
To only pass the time
No more colouring books
No christmas bells to chime

But thinking young
And growing older
Is no sin
And I can play
The game of life to win

I can recall the time
When I wasn’t ashamed
To reach out to a friend
And now I think I’ve got
A lot more than
A skipping rope to lend

Now there’s more to do
Than watch my sailboat glide
And everyday can be
My magic carpet ride
And I can play hide and seek with my fears
And live my days instead of counting my years

Let everyone debate the true reality
I’d rather see the world the way it used to be
A little bit of freedom’s
All we lack
So catch me if you can
I’m goin’ back

About TheBigForest

We are TheBigForest. Two silly artist makers creating in felt and paper construction. Like us on Facebook: TheBigForest. Find us at Twitter : twitter/TheBigForestuk

6 comments

  1. Remember these types of drawings in the 60’/70’s cartoons.

  2. Love it! Not a song I’m familiar with, so as I don’t know the tune the lyrics read like a poem that sums up things very nicely. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Charming prose, loved it. Of course I am crazy for vintage, so I’ll travel back with them most happily.

    • Yes the lyrics always speak to us. Of course there is the old…is the Carol King version of Goin’ Back better than the Dusty Springfield version debate. We were introduced to a Nils Lofgren version a couple of years back and that really rocks.

Leave a Reply

