Open Studios: A Day Out at the Seaside

We love to celebrate a vintage day out at the British seaside. Salty air, fish and chips, a dip in the sea, simple pleasures that seem to go on and on for ever (particularly when you are a child).BrightonSeaDogADayOut1TheBigForestBlog copy

Here is an old sea dog, sitting by the promenade with the flags fluttering in the breeze and the wind ruffling his coat.  He is one of our new works inspired by the Willet Collection of folk ceramics at Brighton Museum. He is sitting on a reclaimed part of the pier decking of Brighton Pier (that’s the Palace Pier to locals) lovingly finished and still smelling slightly of ozone and happy childhood holidays. He has wooden fretwork and illustration accessories too.

We also make sea dogs to commission with a flag saying any seaside place you love.BrightonSeaDogDayOut2TheBigForestDetailBlog

Our open studios are from the 15th to the 18th May at Creative Clerkenwell. To find out more click here . We are right on the top floor, get the lift up and then walk down through all the studios is the best way!

About TheBigForest

We are TheBigForest. Two silly artist makers creating in felt and paper construction. Like us on Facebook: TheBigForest. Find us at Twitter : twitter/TheBigForestuk

10 comments

  1. Will he be waiting for us at the Open Studios? Another great reason to visit 🙂 You guys are amazing and come up with the most gorgeous creations!
    (I promise not to propose, teehee)

  2. oh this dog is SO adorable I have the urge to propose to Benjamin again ;-D … yes yes , I know, it´s hopeless. But this dog sure is absolutely brilliant, it makes up a bit for me having to say goodbye soon to my favorite (shelter-)dog I walk with every Weekend – he has found a new home and will move there at the end of the month, which leaves me a bit heartbroken. So this cute sailor dog lights up my mood 😉

    • Excellent! Its sad but also good news about the shelter dog, lets hope s/he is happy in their new home. As all the new work is a collaboration between both of us it will be two proposals I’m afraid, Cris! LOL!

      • ;-))) ah yeah , well I am sure that my proposal to you is not far away as you hinted a nice vocab post especially for me coming up soon…and I did believe in your words…… so as an optimistic person, I already got the 3 rings now (!) and have my eyes eagerly fixed on this blogspace for further motivation to go on with thinking about what the cake, guest list and the band should be like to suggest to you two …implying, of course, there will be a double “YES” as an answer to my proposals …. ;-D … LOL … if not, there is still hope for me if you pull up that marriage service for creative types, don´t think I forgot about that 😉

  3. I love the old sea dog! Oh we do like to be beside the seaside…

  4. ann perrin

    Reblogged this on Ann Perrin and commented:
    LOVE THESE PEOPLE THEY ARE OFTEN OUT AND ABOUT IN THEIR CAMPER VAN WHEN NOT INVENTING NEW BEARS!

Leave a Reply

