Dreams burn but in ashes are gold

thebigforestblogalfriston

I’ve been doing a lot of travel lately and travel means…..ipod music when my brain is too tired to read. I have always been a fan of Kings of Convenience (KOC), having bought their first album a very long time ago, but their music has suited my mood over the past weeks and so Ive been rediscovering, on repeat,  their album Declaration of Dependence, a soothing soundtrack to my journeys.

One song has been speaking to me more loudly than any other ’24-25′, both the original track and the H.O.P remix. I’m not going to explain why, the internet is full of personal interpretations of KOC songs and I really don’t want to add to that, just  in case the lyric title of this post makes it accessible through Google search. Lets just say that its been making me reconsider, in a good way.

Someone once said that my favourite book ‘Tom’s Midnight Garden’ by Phillipa Pearce should not be read or described to children as they should have the space to discover and create the inner world that it triggers. I feel the same with Kings of Convenience, it’s music for ones inner world and others interpretations don’t add to the enjoyment  and sometimes jar.

It’s not long to our Christmas open studio event and we realise that a lot of the ‘decorate the house in time for Christmas’ items on the to-do list aren’t going to get done. Ho hum. The stark reality is a lovely house and no new stock to sell or, well you can work it out.

One of the surprise big sellers during our May open studios were five different cut out and dress Brighton Men Dolls – like those dolls you had as a kid but sort of more grown up (I will leave that to your imagination) and we have just finished designing a Christmas version. Great fun! I keep meaning to redesign them slightly as British Men Dolls as some of our customers in the US were hankering after them. They will, I promise find their way to our Etsy shop!

So I said in July that we would be back to regular blogging and we have simply been too busy and I have been writing to pay the bills too. So no promises this time. Wait and see….but we love your comments on our tweets, on facebook and on the blog too.

The image is of a shed in Alfriston, Sussex that we have always loved. It would make a perfect home for TheBigForest.

If you are unfamiliar with Kings of Convenience then do find ’24-25′ or ‘Second to Numb’ on YouTube as a gateway to Erlend and Eirik’s  gentle Norwegian music

About TheBigForest

We are TheBigForest. Two silly artist makers creating in felt and paper construction. Like us on Facebook: TheBigForest. Find us at Twitter : twitter/TheBigForestuk

2 comments

  1. Lovely to read a new blogpost. I amglad to hear you plan to resist the Christmas decoraton frenzy – I am absolutely sure your house will be lovely even without new decoration items! The most important thing at Christmas is GOOD FOOD, don´t you agree? 😉

Leave a Reply

